We know it’s almost the summer holidays but we’re still as busy as ever over here at the MM Agency! We have new releases, award nominations and a gorgeous new paperback cover reveal.

We started off the week on good form as Ella Carey celebrated the publication of her new historical fiction novel the The Lost Girl of Berlin (Bookouture). This moving and immersive book tells the story of Kate Mancini, an American war correspondent who breaks all the rules and rescues a German orphan girl from a ruined house in Berlin. Read more about the release here.

The second book in Ella’s Secrets of Paris trilogy, The House by the Lake, was in the top 3 on the Australian amazon charts!

 

Ashley Audrain is smashing it again as The Push (Penguin Random House / Penguin Michael Joseph) is the No.1 Kindle bestseller on Amazon.co.uk! We’re also in love with the striking UK paper back cover of this dark and unsettling thriller.

The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson (Bonnier / Zaffre) and the The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams (HarperCollins / HarperFiction) are both Library Reads pick for August!

The Reading List is also featured on the cover of Bookpage in the US and included this superb quote: “In Adams’ gentle novel, there is no sorrow or trouble so great that a good book—and a supportive friend—cannot help, and it is never too late to become a reader. As an uplifting and tenderhearted celebration of libraries and the transformative power of books, The Reading List is particularly perfect for book clubs and sure to brighten any reader’s day.”

Lizzy Kay’s Seven Lies (Little, Brown / Sphere) was included in a round up of binge worthy beach reads. A chilling and original psychological thriller, it’s definitely a book you’ll finish in one day by the side of the pool!

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G by Jen Carney (Penguin Random House / Puffin) was featured in the Daily Mail as they chose the most fun books for children to read this summer. ‘A sparky, funny new series perfect for fans of Diary of A Wimpy Kid.’  Full of  laugh-out-loud observations and doodles, kids will love this first instalment of the hilarious world of Billie Upton Green.

Jen was excited to get her hands on a finished copy of The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.: Basically Famous this week. Fans of the series don’t have long to wait as it’s out next month!

 

The Authenticity Project by Claire Pooley (Penguin Random House / Transworld) is this month’s Book Club Pick for British homeware and lifestyle brand Joules. This warm, poignant and uplifting book really is the feel-good novel you need to read this summer.

We’re delighted with this animated cover reveal for Every Day in December by Kitty Wilson (HarperCollins / One More Chapter). Prepare for this festive love story to sweep you off your feet!

Lex Croucher popped into Waterstones for a ‘shelfie’. Watch this great video where she shares some of her favourite reads and inspiration for her historical debut Reputation (Bonnier / Zaffre). She is also Blackwell’s new no.1 bestseller! We’re not surprised that this witty novel about status, friendship, and first loves is soaring high in its first week of publication.

Ethan Joella’s debut novel A Little Hope has been chosen for the 2021 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Longlist! The winner receives a $15,000 prize, with each shortlisted author receiving $1,000. An emotionally powerful debut that immerses the reader into a community of friends, family, and neighbours, A Little Hope celebrates the importance of small moments of connection and the ways that love and forgiveness can help us survive even the most difficult of life’s challenges. We’ll keep our fingers crossed for you Ethan!

The Night She Went Missing by Kristen Bird (Headline) received a glowing review from bestselling author J.T. Ellison: “Kristen Bird is a great new voice in suspense, and her fabulous debut, The Night She Went Missing, is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies who thrive on stories of deceit in the suburban world. Beautiful writing and impressive character development anchor a truly devious plot.”

YA author Holly Bourne did an event with Tanya Byrne for Waterstones, where they spent an evening talking about writing, young people, legacy, and how stories define us. YA author

Pug Actually by Matt Dunn (HarperCollins / HQ Digital) has been selected as July Must Listen on Apple! This hilarious and poignant story is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud wherever you choose to listen.

We’ve also closed this fantastic international deal this week:

Serbian rights to Sophie Irwin’s A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting have been sold to Vulkan, taking the total number of international deals for this wonderful book to 17!