We are delighted to share that Leah Mercer’s gripping and suspenseful new novel Why She Left is published today by Bookouture. For fans of Jodi Picoult and Imogen Clark, early reviews have been nothing short of glowing:

‘This story had me glued to my chair! You will not believe the twists and turns as you devour the pages! It has secrets, fear, strength, mystery and suspense!… Do yourself a favor and put aside a day to read this novel. It is so good!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I’m famished and sleepless from staying awake through the night to read it! Leah Mercer is a fantastic storyteller… There are several layers to this story and I completely enjoyed the alternative chapters of the mother and daughter… Very addictive and compelling, I swallowed the book whole over a night.’ @swatz2809

‘A stunning readheartbreaking and gripping in equal measure, this family drama had everything I needed… I was hooked from the very first page… I love it when a book evokes such strong emotionsHighly recommended by me!’ Mychestnutreadingtree

I was immediately sucked into the story… The secrets just keep spilling out and will shock and startle you. Very well written and it kept me hooked the entire time! Highly recommend!’ @lindzanne1_bookworm

We can’t wait for you to dive in…

Fifteen years ago, her daughter vanished. Now, she’s back.

Ruth has spent every day of the last fifteen years grieving for her daughter Isobel who left the family home as a teenager and completely disappeared. Walking around the school to which she has given her life, every child she sees reminds her of her daughter’s bright future and of a happy family destroyed in an instant.

So when Ruth opens the door to find Isobel and a grandson she never knew existed, she feels a rush of joy. Isobel tells her that they need a safe place to stay whilst she gets back on her feet. Having lost her daughter once, Ruth is determined to keep her family together and enrols her grandson at the school, in the hope that they stay for good.

But as mother and daughter begin to heal the wounds of the past, a violent attack brings old secrets to the surface once more. It is clear that someone is prepared to destroy everything Ruth holds dear. Can Isobel confront her darkest secret before it is too late?

Congratulations Leah, on this very special publication day!