April may be coming to a close but the good news for our authors keeps on flooding in. From two highly-anticipated cover reveals, to exciting award short-listings and press features, it’s been another brilliant week here at the MM Agency!

First off, we’d like you to take in the quirky and mysterious new US and Canadian cover for Nita Prose’s The Maid. Set to be published in 2022 by Ballantine/Penguin Random House in the US, Penguin Random House in Canada and HarperFiction/HarperCollins in the UK, The Maid follows Molly Gray, a young hotel maid who struggles with social skills and misinterprets the intentions of others.

The novel blends the charm of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine with an Agatha Christie-esque murder mystery. It is set at the Regency Grand Hotel, where Molly the maid leaves every room perfect and pristine, while getting to know each guest’s dirty secrets. A Clue-like, locked-room whodunnit, The Maid explores Molly’s descent into the murderous underbelly of her gilded workplace, while telling a timely story about the strengths of our differences.

Nita’s debut is one of the most highly-anticipated novels of 2022 and has been sold to 26 international territories. Back in December 2020 it was announced that Academy Award nominee Florence Pugh is going to produce and star in the film adaptation of the book – read the article here.

Check out this stunning and atmospheric new cover for Leah Mercer’s upcoming novel, Safe From Harm, which is soon to be published by Bookouture in June 2021.

Safe From Harm tells the tale of Ali, who flees her broken marriage during her pregnancy to find solace in her seaside childhood home. When she runs into seemingly perfect couple Michael and Meg, she’s drawn into their idyllic family life. When Michael suddenly leaves for a work-trip, Ali and Meg’s newly close bond is tested as Ali begins to notice Meg’s increasingly erratic behaviour. As time passes and Meg spins further out of control, Ali begins to wonder where Michael actually is and why he hasn’t returned. Ali had always thought returning to her childhood safe haven would be the start of a hopeful future for her and her baby. But is she about to expose a past secret which will threaten everything she has ever known?

Danielle Jawando’s debut YA novel And The Stars Were Burning Brightly, which was published by Simon & Schuster in 2020, is continuing to gain amazing recognition. Having been shortlisted for the Jhalak Children’s & Young Adult Prize only last week, And the Stars has now been longlisted for the 2021 Branford Boase Award, given to the author of an outstanding debut novel for children. Congratulations Danielle!

We’re excited to announce that two of our authors’ novels have been picked for WH Smith’s Book of the Month for April! Having both featured on bestseller lists consistently over the last few months, Katie Kirby’s charming middle-grade debut The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks was chosen as Children’s Book of the Month, while the title of Fiction Book of the Month was snatched up by Katherine Faulkner’s page-turning debut thriller, Greenwich Park.

The glowing coverage for Greenwich Park keeps on coming, having received glowing reviews in three publications this week.

Woman Magazine has dubbed it “creepy and thrilling – you’ll be left trying to guess what’s going on until the end.”

Sarah Lawrence at The Daily Mail has praised it as “twisty and dark and brilliant on secrets, lies and the extraordinary lengths some people with go to protect perfectly crafted existences. I raced through it.’’

And The Independent has featured it as one of their Best Debut Novels to Have on Your Radar, describing it as “fast-paced and addictive, Katherine Faulkner’s debut novel encompasses pregnancy, female-friendships and secrets. A top-notch psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat till the very end.’’

Since its debut Ashley Audrain’s The Push has been receiving amazing recognition, having been sold in over 30 different territories, chosen as Good Morning America’s January Book Club pick, and consistently appearing in the bestseller charts, for The New York Times, Globe and Mail and The Toronto Star. And this week The Push is back at No.1 in Canada and this marks its sixteenth week on The Toronto Star bestseller list. In international news, it has also been shortlisted for Book of the Year Award in Sweden. If you want to cast your vote, please do: voting is now live!

Emma Stonex likewise continues to dominate the bestseller lists, with her acclaimed novel The Lamplighters (Picador/PanMacmillan) coming in at No.11 on the Hardback Fiction Chart this week.

Stephanie Wrobel’s The Recovery of Rose Gold, published by Michael Jospeh/Penguin Random House UK and Berkley/Penguin Random House US, was also the 4th bestselling promotional title across the whole of PRH this week, sitting behind Liane Moriarty, Lee Child and Katie Fforde. Stephanie was also recently nominated for an Edgar Award in the Best First Novel category, and celebrations took place last night.

Readers can’t get enough of our authors’ new titles, with Melanie Hudson’s The Night Train to Berlin making a splash on the Amazon Bestseller charts, since its e-book publication last week:

Melanie’s new book is a dual timeline romance, set during the closing days of World War Two and the present day. Its emotive and heart-breaking story will appeal to fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Furnivall, and has already caught the hearts of readers.

The first review for Elizabeth Macneal‘s new book Circus of Wonders, has been featured in The Guardian. The reviewer labels it ‘’an atmospheric victoriana” where “an egotistical ringmaster gives his “monsters” a chance to shine in this glittering follow-up to The Doll Factory”.

Soon to be published on May 13th by Picador/PanMacmillan, Circus of Wonders transports us to the English coast in 1866, where a young girl, Nell, is set apart by her community because of the birthmarks that speckle her skin. When Jasper Jupiter’s Circus of Wonders arrives in her village, Nell is sold off by her father, becoming a new feature for Jasper’s circus. As Nell’s fame grows and she becomes closer to Jasper’s gentle brother Toby, she soon learns that the spotlight can be just as limiting and judgmental as her small village.

Check out the full article here.

Abbie Greaves‘s new novel The Ends of the Earth is out this week with Century/Penguin Random House and is already receiving an abundance of praise, with New Magazine declaring that  “Fans of Jojo Moyes will love this intricate tale of a woman searching for answers about a lost lover”, and bookblooger @whatGabyreads of The Debut Digest describing it as  “a book about unexpected joy, unexpected friendships and unexpected hope. It will break you and then it will heal you. I couldn’t put it down. If you love Beth O’Leary or Emma Stonex, Abbie’s books are the ones for you.”

Be sure to catch her on her Book Blog Tour on the dates listed below.

Speaking of great reviews, Matt Dunn’s new novel Pug Actually has been receiving a lot of attention recently.

Booklist lauds that “Readers will fall in love with Dunn’s charming canine narrator… amusing and heartwarming, and Doug is a fantastic star of the show.”

Meanwhile, Library Journal raved in their starred review: “[A] delightful, quirky novel about a dog and his girl… A word of caution: Reading this in public may cause uncontrollable laughter and create a scene.”

Jane Healey’s The Animals at Lockwood Manor (Mantle/PanMacmillan) was recently featured in the Scottish supplement of The Bookseller, in a feature for Scottish writers who won awards in the past year. It called the novel a ‘gripping, atmospheric debut’. We couldn’t agree more, and neither could her fans.  Upon publication, Jane’s debut novel featured at No.4 on The Times bestseller list and was dubbed as one of the Best Books of 2020 by Waterstones, while also winning the Historical Writer’s Association Debut Crown Award of 2020.

Caroline Bishop, author of the The Other Daughter (Simon and Schuster), will be appearing at the Stay at Home: Literary Festival on May 5th. Caroline will be taking part in a panel-event titled, ‘The Unheard: Stories from the Forgotten Voices of the Past’, where she’ll be joined alongside historical fiction writers such as, Frances Quinn and Louise Hare, to discuss what drew them to writing about those who are least remembered in history.

C.L. Taylor recently celebrated the publication of her suspenseful and unputdownable new book, Her Last Holiday (Avon/HarperCollins) this week on Facebook Live. One of our resident masterful thriller-writers, Cally is known for her bestselling, page-turning novels that always keep you on the edge of your seat. Her newest book Her Last Holiday is sure to be a hit, having already been sold into three international territories.

Alexandra Wilson, author of the highly praised and engrossing memoir In Black and White, appeared on BBC Radio 6 on Friday. Tackling issues of racism, classism, sexism and accessibility, Alexandra discussed her new book and how she wants to challenge perceptions of the legal system, hold it to account for its lack of diversity, and inspire young people who may not think the legal profession isn’t for them due to their background.

In Black and White is now out in paperback with Endeavour Books; keep an eye-out for the Waterstones exclusive edition which not only features the spectacular new cover but also includes reading group questions and a letter from Alexandra to her teenage-self.

Hear more from Alexandra here at the 1:06:26 mark.

Tracy Bloom, sat down this week with fellow bestselling author Milly Johnson, for a heart-warming and humorous launch to celebrate the brilliant publication of Tracy’s hilarious new novel The Wife Who Got A Life (HarperCollins).

IRD have made brilliant deals this week:

Spanish rights for The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh by Helen Rutter have sold to Pijama Books

Polish rights for The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks and a second book in the series by Katie Kirby have sold to Znak.

Russian rights for Lottie Brooks and a second book in the series have also gone to MIF – officially bringing Lottie to 10 international territories!

German rights for The Deception of Harriet Fleet by Helen Scarlett has gone to Piper.