It’s been another sensational week at the MM Agency, with one author scoring a win at the Romantic Novelist Association’s Award Ceremony and another securing an intensely exciting TV deal. We’ll kick off as usual with this week’s cover reveals.

First up is the impressive cover for Teresa Driscoll’s Her Perfect Family, a tense psychological thriller, which will be published in November 2021. When Gemma Hartley is shot and and put into a coma on her graduation day, PI Matthew Hill is first on the scene. His investigation suggests a connection to a dark family secret. Could it be that Gemma’s parents are hiding something?

Next is Black Drop by Leonora Nattrass, which according to Andrew Taylor is ‘a joy from start to finish’ and Emma Stonex as ‘a thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction’.  Publishing in Autumn 2021 this is a vibrant historical thriller set during the dawn of modern British democracy, the French Revolution and the birth of modern America, perfect for readers of Antonia Hodgson, Laura Shepherd-Robinson and Andrew Taylor,

And the final extremely joyful jacket is The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson, which will be published in the US on May 31st 2021. Sampson’s novel presents June Jones, who must fight for her entire way of life when the council threatens to close the local library, which is not only her workplace, but the focal point of June’s memories of her beloved mother.

We’re delighted to announce that Clare Pooley’s The Authenticity Project won the Romantic Novelist Association’s Award for Debut of the Year. Members of the MM Team had a fantastic time attending the Zoom ceremony. Congratulations, Clare, and also to Abbie Greaves and Fiona Valpy who were shortlisted too!

This week also brings another award nomination for Danielle Jawando! Her YA novel, And The Stars Were Burning Brightly, has been longlisted for the Jhalak Children’s & Young Adult Prize.

C. J. Tudor’s recently published novel, The Burning Girls, has Hans Rosenfeldt on board to adapt it into a TV series, working with world renowned producers Buccaneer Media. Rosenfeldt wrote The Bridge and Marcella, so we are extremely excited that he is involved. But that’s not all, because The Burning Girls was featured in The Herald’s pick of the best new thrillers, while Tudor was interviewed by The Bill Thrill this week about the real-life history that inspired her to write The Burning Girls and her terrifying next book.

We are delighted to announce that End State: Nine Ways Society is Broken and How We Fix It by James Plunkett will be published by Trapeze Books on June 24th 2021. End State is a bracing investigation into how we must rethink, renew and reform some of the most fundamental ways society is organised. Its optimistic message will resonate with all of those who are keen to see a brighter, fairer, more prosperous future. You can read more about the deal here.

Ella Carey’s A New York Secret is published by Bookouture today after generating a huge number of pre-orders and soaring up the Amazon charts. The New York-based novel – the first all-new book since the very successful relaunch of her backlist – is set in 1942, as Lily Rose works her way towards becoming the first woman to work as head chef of the iconic restaurant, Valentino’s. But guiding Valentino’s through wartime rations and restrictions is only the start of it.

Carey is also doing a blog tour to celebrate the publication, running from March 12th – 14th. Be sure to keep up with how it’s being received!

Katie Kirby’s debut The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks is currently the sixth bestselling Children’s book on Amazon. This is a stunning achievement given that the book publishes on March 18th and we are so pleased for her. Congratulations, Katie!

The Recovery of Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel is selling like hot cakes. This tense, twisty debut is the sixth bestselling paperback across Penguin Random House titles this week, sitting in a top ten that contains Michelle Obama, James Patterson and Marian Keyes, while also being the third bestselling PRH eBook, hot on the heels of Patterson and Liane Moriarty. In addition, Wrobel’s debut is the second bestselling paperback in WHSmith, falling just behind Michelle Obama. Rose Gold became a Sunday Times top 10 bestseller the week that it published.

Emma Stonex’s recently published novel, The Lamplighters, will be in the eleventh spot in The Sunday Times Bestsellers List based on a partial week’s sales, while the audiobook is already in thirty-fifth place on the Audible Bestsellers chart. Stonex spoke to Grazia about balancing being a writer and a new Mum. It’s a beautiful article about how she finds writing to be a sanctuary and re-energiser, feeding into the other areas of your life. And finally, The Lamplighters was spotted in the window of Padstow Bookseller, who put together this fantastic window dedicated to Stonex’s Cornish novel.

The Killing Choice by Will Schindler and The Captive by Deborah O’Connor have been featured in a roundup in The Times listing the best thrillers and crime novels of 2021 so far.

Jane Healey’s The Ophelia Girls has been praised by Emma Stonex, who described it as saying, “…a potent, mesmerising portrait of girlhood desire, betrayal, beauty and death, sensuously written and passionately told.”

Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy, wrote a short story for Mother’s Day called The Necklace for Hello Magazine. Morrey also shared a picture on Twitter of her Mum wearing the necklace that inspired this piece.

Laurence Anholt talked with fellow writer, Jason Webster, about his The Mindful Detective series as part of an event for Shute Festival, particularly exploring his recently published book, Festival of Death.

Benjamin Dean, author of Me, My Dad and The End of the Rainbow, was featured in an event run by Waterstones with Adam Silvera about his book, They Both Die At The End, and much fun was had by all!

And Katherine May’s bestselling memoir, Wintering, was featured in a gorgeous article on the Brain Pickings blog.

As always, our wonderful International Rights Department have been pulling out all the stops to make as many deals as possible for the MM authors. This week, they have sealed the following deals:

Hungarian rights to Wintering by Katherine May sold to Partvonal/Lira at auction

Danish rights to The Skylark’s Secret by Fiona Valpy sold to Cicero

Chinese (Complex) rights to Sleep by C. L. Taylor sold to Spring International

French rights to Alias Emma by Ava Glass sold to Les Arenes in a two book deal

Macedonian rights to The Authenticity Project by Clare Pooley sold to Tri Publishing Centre

Serbian rights to I Will Make You Pay by Teresa Driscoll sold to Publik

Russian rights to Screen Time by Becca Caddy sold to Phoenix