The Puritan Princess by Miranda Malins has been published in paperback by Orion Fiction/Hachette.

This gripping debut historical novel explores the rise of Oliver Cromwell’s youngest daughter and is perfect for fans of Anne O’Brien, Joanna Hickson and Alison Weir. Expect power, politics and a devastating fight for the crown, told with gorgeous writing and in-depth historical research.

London, 1657.

The youngest daughter of Oliver Cromwell, eighteen-year-old Frances is finding her place at England’s new centre of power.

Following the turmoil of Civil War, a fragile sense of stability has returned to the country. Her father has risen to the unprecedented position of Lord Protector of the Commonwealth, and Frances has found herself transported from her humble childhood home to the sumptuous palaces of Hampton Court and Whitehall, where she dreams of a love match that must surely be found at court.

But after an assassination attempt on the Cromwell family, Frances realises the precarious danger of her position – and when her father is officially offered the crown, Frances’s fate suddenly assumes diplomatic and dynastic importance.

Will she become a political pawn, or can Frances use her new status to seize control and further her own ambitions?

On the book, Miranda commented:

‘Cromwell’s family was overwhelmingly female (he was the only boy with seven sisters and a widowed mother) who had an extremely close and happy marriage and four lively daughters to whom he was devoted. The more I read about the girls, the more I realised that their lives were every bit as extraordinary as their father’s; particularly those of the youngest two Mary and Frances who lived as unmarried princesses at their father’s court, wooed by nobles and princes including the exiled Charles Stuart (future King Charles II) himself. When I saw how bound up their courtship was with the question of their father’s kingship, I knew I had found a great story that had to be told.’

The novel has also been showered with praise:

“A powerful and superbly researched historical novel with a refreshingly different perspective on one of the great figures of English history and his world. Both fascinating and very readable.”

Andrew Taylor, Bestselling author of The King’s Evil

“The extraordinary, revealing and moving relationship between Oliver Cromwell and his daughter Frances is brought to vivid life in this masterly historical novel.”

Paul Lay, Editor of History Today

“Miranda Malins creates a cast of three-dimensional characters, vividly imagined against a deeply researched historical background. A joy and an education to read.”

Rowan Williams, Former Archbishop of Canterbury

“Totally gripping… grab it now. There’s a new Cromwell on the shelves!”

Minoo Dinshaw

“A remarkable story, set in a remarkable time, when human lives were very obviously shaped – as all human lives are shaped of course – by forces quite beyond their control.”

James Evans, Author of Emigrant

Miranda is a writer and historian specialising in the history of Oliver Cromwell, his family and the politics of the Interregnum period following the Civil Wars. She studied at Cambridge University, leaving with a PhD, and continues to speak at conferences and publish journal articles and book reviews. She is also a Trustee of the Cromwell Association. Alongside this, Miranda works as a commercial solicitor in the City and began writing historical novels on maternity leave. She lives in Hampshire with her husband, young sons and cat, Keats. The Puritan Princess is her debut novel.

To celebrate her paperback publication, Miranda will be in conversation with bestselling author Andrew Taylor on Thursday 18th March. Get a copy of the book and tickets here.