The Book of Us, an emotional and powerful page turner of friendship, love and forgiveness by Andrea Michael is published today by One More Chapter / HarperCollins.

A story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever, The Book of Us is for fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes and is published in eBook today with a paperback following in June.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university.

But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life.

But has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

emotional books, Jodi Picoult, The Giver of Stars, Cecelia Ahern, PS I love you, Clare Mackintosh

Readers can’t get enough of Cass, Loll and this emotional tearjerker, calling the novel “sensitively written, poignant, heartwarming and uplifting.” Here’s just a few more reviews from Amazon for a taster:

“The depth of each of the characters in this story was spectacular… It was a growing experience for me as a reader to follow their travels”

“I love how emotionally invested I was by the end of the story; I was crying freely and shamelessly (You got what you aimed for Ms. Michael).”

“A powerful book of lost friends coming together again in the face of death… It certainly brought tears to my eyes”

“There is so much to learn as you become absorbed in these women’s adventures together! PS- *tissue alert*”

“Vibrant, believable, characters and an absorbing plot”

“The book is full of happy moments that make you want to keep turning the pages and equal heartbreaking ones too… I loved the book, it was so honest… If you want to go on a journey of love, laughter and tears this book ticks all the boxes.”

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. You may know her from her previous romantic comedies, written under the name A L Michael. She works in marketing, runs writing for wellbeing workshops, and lives in Watford with her fiancé and their crazy cat.