Literary Agent

Maddy Belton

Contact

What I'm Looking For

SFF across all genres for all ages, including: grim dark, thriller, historical, romance, cosy fantasy, sci-fi, epic, YA fantasy, dark academia, contemporary fantasy, fantasy middle-grade, mythology, fairy tale and queer fantasy. Inspiring children’s non-fiction.

Submissions

What I'm Looking For

I’m looking for worlds to get lost in, adventures that transform what it means to be a hero, and unique magic that offers as many problems as solutions. I like books that make me cry and books that change my mind. Above all, when I finish a story about another world, I want it to have taught me a lesson which helps me live in this one.

I love all fantasy, but I favour richly imagined, complex worlds with a history to discover and a future to protect. Worldbuilding is one of my favourite aspects of this genre and I’m always looking for a new, dense world with series potential. Think Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere or the Marvel Cinematic Universe – the bigger the better! I also like character-driven fantasy with a diverse cast I can root for (or root against) and I want to see a range of different relationships depicted authentically. I particularly like epics that dip into big, universal themes such as grief, climate change, or war and which ask impossible questions in the vein of R.F. Kuang or N.K. Jemisin. I am also excited by authors that play with form and language in a fantasy setting.

In YA, I’m looking for much the same as in an adult fantasy, but with younger protagonists and a closer focus on relationships. I want to see the tropes I know and love in new and exciting forms and my favourite YA books often centre around belonging and becoming. I like a dash of romance in everything, because I’m sentimental that way, but it’s particularly important in the YA space.

Sci-fi is a big passion of mine, especially when it comes with a strong hook. I’m a huge fan of Becky Chamber’s The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and Michaiah Johnson’s The Space Between Worlds.  I like space as a metaphor, and I would love something that explores different alien species. Please send me your space operas and sci-fi romances which combine space, magic and mayhem!

In fantasy middle grade, I favour whimsy and animal companions; I would love to follow a group of kids through magic school. I tend to look for plenty of humour with a strong friendship at the centre, and I want middle grade stories which engage with the concerns of children growing up as well as offering an all-important escape (preferably on a dragon/unicorn’s back).

Above all, I have an open mind and my favourite books often surprise me. If it’s magical, I would love to see it!

I’m also looking for children’s non-fiction for all ages. In this space, I want something as creative as it is informative, and I think diverse voices are increasingly important.

 

 

Ten of my favourite Fantasy and Sci-Fi books

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The Broken Earth Trilogy by N.K. Jesmisin

The Poppy War Trilogy by R.F. Kaung

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Skander and the Unicron Thief by A.F. Steadman

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

The Graceling Realm Series by Kristen Cashore

Meet more of our agents